Mary Fletcher Library
(now known as Wysox Township Library)
18 West Fifth Street
Milledgeville, Illinois 61051-1310

attrib. Claude & Starck, 1923

Mary Fletcher passed away at the age of 43. In her will, Jane Fletcher, Mary’s mother and only surviving member of the family, left $10,000 to the town of Milledgeville to purchase land for and build a library, which completed in 1923 and named in honor of her daughter. "Mary Fletcher Library" is still carved in the stone over the enterance door to the library. Jane Fletcher also established a trust fund to cover the day-to-day expenses of the library. The library operated on the memorial money until June, 1945. "There was sufficient money to operate until some bad investments were made." In 1945, taxpayers took over responsibility for funding the library, and it was renamed the Wysox Township Library.

The library has no record of the architect. However, both exterior and interior of the Milledgeville library closely resemble Claude & Starck’s 1912 Flagg Township Public Library in Rochelle, Illinois, fifty miles to the east.

Historic images and research courtesy of Jan McKean, Director of Wysox Township Library.






MinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNew JerseyNew Mexico

NevadaNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOklahomaOhioOregon

PennsylvaniaSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexas



AustraliaCanadaDominican RepublicJapanNetherlandsPuerto Rico

   • • •

FAQContributorsRandom NotesRIPPrairie BookshelfThe Unknowns


The Web The Prairie School Traveler


All contents copyright 2005-2013 The Prairie School Traveler.